If you are no longer using your Pinterest account or if because of any reason like the security of information or to be safe by Pinterest scams or it gets rid of notifications on mail, whatever is your reason? Still, if you don’t want to continue, then you can delete your account. But, if you are having any second thought about it or if you are not sure that may be in the future, you can use it again, then it is suggested to deactivate your account instead of deleting it permanently. Here, we will discuss how to delete a Pinterest account or how you can close the Pinterest account. But, before that, let’s get more familiar with this application by having a quick intro to it.
What is Pinterest?
Pinterest is a social media network which allows its users to share their thought and ideas visually and discover new ideas by posting or pinning images, videos, GIFs, etc. on their own boards and to the others a swell. This site is developed by Ben Silbermann, Evan Sharp and Paul Sciarra in 2010. And they reached 300 million active users till 2019. This is free of cost media.
Here, not only can the individuals create an account, but the business house can also create an account and use it for their advertisements. But, if you will delete your account, usually there will be no refund. Also, till the time, there is no such way available so that we can remove the account of business houses.
What will happen if you will close the Pinterest account?
If you close your Pinterest account, then you will lose all the boards and pins. It is recoverable once your Pinterest account is deleted permanently. But, if you are not willing to use it for the time being, then you can deactivate your account. Whenever you want to use it again, you can reactivate your login id and password because Pinterest used to keep your id and password secure for future perspectives. In this way, you can regain your pinned data again.
How to deactivate a Pinterest account?
- Open the web browser and visit Pinterest.com
- Click on the username available in the upper right-hand side
- Select settings from the menu option
- Scroll down, and at the end of the page Deactivate account button is given, click on that button
- Now, here Pinterest will as you “are you sure you want to leave?” for confirmation
- Click on yes to give your consent.
- Here for final consent, Pinterest will ask again. Now you have to click on the Deactivate Account button.
- After that, Pinterest will remove your account pages and pins from the site.
- And if your account is linked with Facebook or Twitter, you will be delinked as well.
But the good news is anytime you can again reactivate your account as your ID and password will be secure with Pinterest.
Closing an individual account is easy and not much information required but to close a business Pinterest account, some account information might require:
- First name
- Last name
- Email address
- Phone number’
- Billing address
- State, province/region/ zip code/ country
- Reason for cancellation
- last four digits of card date of the last charge
- Amount of the last charge.
- This information will not be enough to close your business account. You have to send a mail to the support team requesting to close your account. They will settle and give you confirmation.
How to delete the Pinterest account permanently?
To remove the account forever, follow the given instructions:
- open the application
- click on the settings option
- go to the Account Basics
- Scroll down to the end and click on Deactivate account
- Then you will get an option permanently close my account.
- Now, you will get a prompt message, “are you sure you want to leave?”
- Give your final consent for confirmation
- Now you have to connect to the support team to give last consent via mail.
- They will delete your account permanently and give you the confirmation via mail.
In this way, you can delete your account permanently, but remember once deleted permanently. You will no longer be able to reactivate it again.
How to close the Pinterest account?
Deleting or closing accounts is almost the same concept. In both cases, you will lose all your pinned boards and images. Follow the steps to close it:
- Open your profile
- Select the Account option
- Click on delete account given on the bottom of the page
- Check the email address associated with your account to ensure that you want to t=close this particular account only.
- Pinterest will as you for your final confirmation, once confirmed account will be closed.
Again you can log in with the same id and password, but you will lose all your saved pins, images, videos, GIFs, and like too. After closing your account permanently, you cannot access your account with the same email id and password, but you can make a new account from scratch to access it.
Hopefully, by using the above steps, you will be able to deactivate or delete the Pinterest account but still, if you are unable to do so, then moving forward, take the help from the support team or write them a mail, they will surely help you.